beautiful rain and glorious granola

Standard

I cannot begin to describe how much I love rainy, summer days. All my babies home together, relaxing and laughing while rain pelts on the windows. Amazing! Our chores done for the day, school done for the day, dancing in the rain done for the day, all that’s left is play and cooking.

We tried out something new this week (stolen from a friend). Each person picked a meal, and instead of running to the store almost daily, the plan is to go once, or maybe twice a week. I don’t want to over challenge myself! I felt like I spent more money than I usually would, but I also usually run to the store multiple times a week or day. So we will see how it goes. My kids love the idea though, so excited about what’s next to come. Last night’s meal was spectacular, curry roasted squash sandwiches. So yummy! Tonight we are having home made pizza, salad and parfaits. My middle daughter sure knows how to pick a tasty dinner. So to make these classy, little parfaits she has picked out I needed some granola, and honestly I had never tried to make it from scratch until today. I don’t know why, we love the stuff! Anyhow, I made some and it is glorious! I’ll never buy it again, truly. Here’s the recipe I came up with:

Glorious Granola

2 cups of old fashioned oats

1/4 cup sugar

1/3 cup maple syrup

2/3 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup raisins

2/3 teaspoon of cinnamon

2 tablespoons of coconut oil

pinch of salt

Mix together well, then bake in the oven at 300 degrees for 45min-1hour. Stirring around every 20mins or so. Let it cool and viola, delicious granola.

~Rachel

20140715-031314-11594107.jpg

Leave a Reply

