why we homeschool

Standard

Our homeschooling journey started when my son began having issues at school. He wasn’t having great luck with teachers; there were bullies, bad influences, he wasn’t learning as quickly as he should and he was stressed. We muddled through preschool and kindergarten, but when first grade came along and the problems grew I was done. It was an easy decision to know I needed to pull him from public school, but it was much harder to follow through and make the leap. I researched for weeks, spoke to homeschooling friends and then went for it. The absolute, best decision, ever!

He started to thrive; still a little behind on reading, but working hard, he began to grow fast and furiously in all other areas. His personality grew; he became more confident, and so much happier. I’m thrilled with how well he is doing, now 6 months later he is testing at 3rd grade level for math! Reading is still a work in progress, but he is plodding ahead. We have come to realize science is his joy, the child is a walking science encyclopedia.

My oldest daughter had ridden out the last half of the year in public school; she was doing well and enjoyed it, so there was no need to pull her out right away. It also gave me a chance to learn the process with just one child. This summer I have left it up to her to decide whether she wanted to try homeschooling or not, her brother has shared how much fun it is, so this Fall I will have a Kindergartener, 2nd grader and 5th grader all homeschooling. So excited!

For the past few months I have been planning and researching our curriculum for the coming year. I’ve been able to brainstorm with my homeschooling buddies and have came up with what I think is a good mixture of curriculums that will compliment my children’s learning styles. I’ve also built workboxes to help keep us organized; this will be a new system for us and I’m eager to try it.

Another fun project I’ve worked on is folder games. Here are a couple of my favorites:

image (1)
The number games are where my child counts the dots, and matches it to the correct number; two different levels for my younger two daughters. The other is simply matching the lowercase letter, with the uppercase letter. Both my girls love to play these games, so I will definitely be coming up with some more.

In the future I’ll post details on our curriculum, workboxes, games and field trips.

~Rachel

Leave a Reply

