Natural Sun Protection

Standard

Summer is one of my favorite times of the year! Farmers markets, gardening, swimming, vacations, all kinds of fun in the sun. It’s also the time of year for sun protection. Most over the counter versions of sunscreen are full of toxic chemicals, even the natural versions are sometimes questionable. I like to know exactly what I’m putting on my children. This year I am making my own. My fair-skinned friend has had great luck with it on her and her children. The great thing about these recipes, they aren’t only natural and pure, they are actually good for you!

beach-sand-blue-ocean

Version #1

1 bottle YL Lavender lotion

1 bottle Myrrh EO

1 bottle Carrot Seed EO

Blend the essential oils with the lotion, then store in a glass jar. Apply 20 mins before heading into the sun. Reapply every 60-90 mins.


Version #2

1/2 cup Shea butter

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 bottle Carrot Seed EO

40 drops Lavender EO

Melt the Shea and coconut oil together. I use the double boiler method. Then whip the oils together with a hand mixer, you can set the bowl in ice to speed up the process. When the mixture starts to thicken add in the essential oils and continue until thick and creamy. Apply 20 mins before heading into the sun. Reapply every 60-90 mins.

**For two in one, sunscreen and bug repellent take recipe #2 and switch the Lavender, for Purification 🙂

  
I only use the very, best essential oils on my family, Young Living. For more info on those click here.

~Rachel

 

Leave a comment